St. John's United Methodist Church has a rich history. Serving, proudly, as the first church in Anderson, SC, it was organized in 1828. Originally, the first physical structure of the church was a log cabin built in 1830 on West Benson Street. In 1858, a framed building was erected on its current site at 515 South McDuffie Street. Later on in 1888, a brick building replaced the frame. The current sanctuary was completed in 1912, with the additions of the Education Building (1928), and the Activities Building (1956).
Our worship service happens each Sunday morning at 10:30 AM and includes a time of singing, congregational prayer, and preaching.
We strive to create a reverent atmosphere that allows God and His Word to be the focus. We also desire to be welcoming of those who may visit.
In addition to our normal worship services, we take time every other month to observe the Lord's Table as Christ commanded. This observance occurs in the worship service on the first Sunday of the evenly numbered months.
Worship Service | 10:30 am